Charles Rice Goff III – One Twenty Twenty One

Charles Rice Goff III – One Twenty Twenty One

Charles Rice Goff III

“One Twenty Twenty One”

One Twenty Twenty One is a single, continuous, audio suite featuring the following sections:

1 Taking Out The Wash
2 With Charity For All
3 Saint Madison Pray For Us
4 How Sweet
5 Rock Stars And Stripes Forever
6 For You And Me
7 The Flickering Beacon
8 We Stand For US
9 Imperfect Union

The Process:

On January 20th, 2021, C. Goff III interacted with the inauguration ceremony for American President Joseph R. Biden through a live electronic audio improvisation. As the ceremony aired through a portable radio in the Kansas City, Kansas, Taped Rugs studio, Goff reacted by creating an interpretive soundscape. This hour-long performance was taped on, and later mixed down from, a Tascam 424MKIII 4-Track Cassette Recorder.

Goff later edited out several portions of the hour-long improvisation, creating Sections 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 of “One Twenty Twenty One.” No effects nor overdubs were added to these edits.

Korg R3 Vocoder/Synthesizer, Korg Z1 Synthesizer, Micro Moog Analog Synthesizer, Billiard Man The Theremin, Voice, Ibanez DM 1000 Digital Delay, Boss RC 20X Loop Station Loop Duplicator

Several days after the inauguration ceremony, Goff reshaped brief edits from a recording of the ceremony’s radio broadcast to create Sections 2, 4, 6, and 8 of “One Twenty Twenty One.” Included in these sections are vocalizations from Lady Gaga, Jennifer Lopez, Garth Brooks, Amanda Gorman, and Leo J. O’Donovan III.

Computer Software:
Cool Edit Pro II, Audacity, Midisoft MIDI Scorewriter, Windows Media Player, Roxio 2011 Sound Recorder, Several Plug-In Audio Sound Effects

Goff mixed together the various edited sections to form the unified recording of “One Twenty Twenty One” on February 20th, 2021.

There is no officially authorized interpretation of this work.

Button: by-nc-nd